In this topic we will explain how you can create new users and modify existing users. We will also show you how to configure the user access rights that determine which airports they can view.
We estimate that this will take 1 minute to complete.
The Importance of User Management
User Management is an important task for all system administrators. It is important to keep on top of this task as it determines who has access rights to the N-Tracking system. It's not
only important to add new users when they join your company or department, but it's just as important to remove users if they leave.
When you configure a new user then you give them access rights to view the data associated with certain airports. It is not necessary to give all users access rights to all airports. You can modify the airports that a particular user has access to at any time by granting them access to additional airports or revoking access to airports that have already been granted to them.
We recommend that you review your user access rights on at least a monthly basis.
2 Detailed Explanation
Click the Admin dropdown button.
Click the Administration menu item.
Click the + Create user button.
It is mandatory to give a login user name and email address. When an email address is entered, N-Tracking checks the format of it to ensure it looks like a proper email address, e.g. firstname.lastname@example.org and that the email address is appropriate for the airline.
Once you have entered the login and email address, you can configure the airlines and airports that this new user will be granted access to by using the sliders.
The slider buttons are used to determine which airlines and which airports this new user will have access to.
= no access
= access granted
Once the user creation details form has been completed then you should click "Save User".
The "Reporter?" slider allows the new user to manually update a flight's data,for example if an update from the pilot via HF radio is received. Updates can be more than just position and may also include fuel quantity etc.
Once you have clicked the "Save user" button the N-Tracking system creates an account for them and generates a password. The user name and password are then emailed to the address that you specified.
You can now see a lit of all the names of each of the users. You can edit any users you wish simply by clicking on the pen simple. This will give you access to any details that you wish to change. Let's go ahead and edit this user.
Click the ✏ button.
In the user modification you will be able to edit their details including the user status where you will be able to block a particular user or unblock.
A user may be blocked if they get their password wrong three times in a row, or if the administrator wishes they can manually block the user. The customer admin can go in and unblock them and change their password, should they require it. Let's go ahead a block this user.
Click the Blocked slider.
Click the Save User button.
Once saved you will be able to see a line that is stricked through the user, this indicates that they are locked out (blocked). To unblock simply go back into the users edit and unblock them.